Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jelliott7593

Hiding the IP Address

19 posts in this topic

Okay, lets say hypothetically I wanted to connect to a FTP/Mail/Telnet/Finger port and didn't want my IP or MAC being noticed how would I spoof them over a Shell in SuSE Linux. Thanks! :D

Connect through a proxy?

Ok ok, I am a Linux noob don't remind me. How would I go about doing that?

No, it's not a linux thing; it's a network thing. In order to keep the host from being able to see your real IP address, you need to go through an anonymizing proxy. This way, the host can only see the proxy's IP address (although the proxy can see yours, obviously).

Also, not all proxies are created equal. Some will forward your IP on to the host anyway. (Hence the need for an anonymizing one.)

go buy a 'shell account' that supports BNC 'may as well'

No, it's not a linux thing; it's a network thing. In order to keep the host from being able to see your real IP address, you need to go through an anonymizing proxy. This way, the host can only see the proxy's IP address (although the proxy can see yours, obviously).

Also, not all proxies are created equal. Some will forward your IP on to the host anyway. (Hence the need for an anonymizing one.)

So telnet to a proxy server and then go from there? GAH, confusing!

Sounds like you're thinking of a shell account... which could also work (e.g. download what you need from your shell account, then download onto your machine from your shell account).

For proxies, normally your web browser or ftp app will allow you to specify a proxy. Just put the address in there, and it will make the connection through the proxy automatically.

The trick is... finding a good one. :)

finding a good one... i google and hit some of the proxy sites but is there a better way to go about finding a good one?

hm or maybe a way to automate looking. such a pain going through them one at time.