bebe

Help Me Please!

38 posts in this topic

Hi there,

I'm looking for some expertise to help resolve a problem I am having with my phone line. I'm actually an IT professional, but know very little about this area.

So...since last week my phone line has been cutting out, just at night around 11 pm or so. A technician was out last week and could not find a problem, but I continue to have no dial tone through most of the night. By morning everything is fine.

Last Thursday night I tried calling my number while this was going on. A male voice said hello, and quickly hung up. Someone tried to call me yesterday very early in the morning, and said it sounded like someone picked up and was listening...then hung up.

I have a technician coming back today, but it sounds like they don't have an idea of what is going on. Any words of wisdom would be appreciated!

BeBe

If anything, you're a victim of stupid idiot kids, not phone phreaks.

it sounds to me like you might be getting plagued by the rare and elusive box kiddie. the best idea i can come up with would be to put a lock on your TNI, if possible.

oh noes, return of the omghax box kiddies. By the way ponyboy, good phrase :D

oh noes, return of the omghax box kiddies. By the way ponyboy, good phrase :D

I think I coined the phrase "box kiddies" at least three years ago :)

I should note that I'm in an apartment building that's right next to a college. There are a few students in the building, and a student residence right next to me. I'm also a college teacher, so may be a prime target!

So yes, likely stupid kids.

The technician tested my line today and found no problems. :(

call the technician out there, give him a padlock and a key, and tell him to secure the phone box properly. (damn phone companies and thier "security bolts")

call the technician out there, give him a padlock and a key, and tell him to secure the phone box properly. (damn phone companies and thier "security bolts")