Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
dual

Linphone anyone?

18 posts in this topic

As posted on Cattle Call, I'm looking for someone to use/learn Linphone with. Alsa drivers are needed and I think a co-authored article could come of it.

Have you ever tried gnomemeeting? It's basically a netmeeting clone for windows that is even compatible I think.

Anyways, I have exams this week but after friday night I am on spring break finally so we can mess with Lunix stuff (maybe get heretic II working on your machine :D )

I might not be the best candidate since i'm new to the linux world but i'd be willing to give ol' linphone a try. I figure it would be a great way to learn some of the ins and outs of redhat linux. Or after i run down to staples today, maybe mandrake. Regardless, if you don't mind providing some potential help with the setup i'll give it a try.

I'll help anyway I can. Hopefully, I can try it out this weekend.

Ok, Linphone is just not working. So I gave GnomeMeeting a shot and it was a snap to get working. Now I just need to make a call. Are there any issues with getting GM through my Linksys router? I'm assuming I have to foward the port GnomeMeeting uses.

Yep, TCP 1720. Now, to make a call.

Too bad about linphone, it seemed so straightforward. I'll give the gnomemeeting a try but it won't be until this weekend, probably sunday. If i get it setup correctly we can try a call.

Did you try compiling it from source dual? I compiled with the options --enable-alsa and --enable-gnome-ui=no and it worked fine, you dont get some pretty graphic interface though. I compiled version 0.10.0 with libosip 0.9.3, its the only way I could get it to install. And dont listen to the readme you can install it to /usr/local/ you dont have to install it to /usr/

Nope, I was messing w/ rpms. I'll try the source shortly.

./configure needed pkgconfig and glib > 2.0, so I added them. Now I get this:

checking for GLIB - version >= 2.0.0...