CCCMiller

Number Scanner Software

5 posts in this topic

Hi, all.

This is my first time posting a topic and I'm excited to see what I learn. I'm very new to phreaking but I've recently discovered a hobby: hand scanning! That is, calling many numbers manually in hopes to find cool recordings and sounds. I've  found  phone scanner software information from my friend he got software which tell about all kind of ivr information like e.g tone , sisco etc he said program call PhoneSweep  but  so far but don't really understand them. I'll just post all my questions in this thread and if you know the answer it would be much appreciated.

1. What is a phone Scanner?
2. Do i need to install on hosted server?
3. If so, how its work may i need VOIP ?
4. What kind of cool stuff is possible to find?

Thanks in advance,

There is a good deal of wardialing software out there - generally, it just looks for modems. Some have options for voip trunking if you choose to use it. In my experience though, there really is no serious substitute at this time for just doing everything by hand.

3. For Linux you could use WarVox, which goes over voip. I think also iWar has an option, where you could scan over voip 

what voips are compatable with warvox

Ironically, this seems to have come up in a recent Telephreak meeting of the minds last weekend.  So some thoughts and comments:

First,  iWar does *not* do VoIP.  It only does VoIP dialing and Signal Analysis (same as WarVox)... the rest is up to you.  There is no modem software built into iWar.  So out of the box, you could have iWar call and have it interpret certain tones.  Warvox does essentially the same thing but with a web front end and prettier pictures.