scoobydooble

Scanning Questions

10 posts in this topic

Hi, all.

This is my first time posting a topic and I'm excited to see what I learn. I'm very new to phreaking but I've recently discovered a hobby: hand scanning! That is, calling many numbers manually in hopes to find cool recordings and sounds. I've found some pretty cool things so far but don't really understand them. I'll just post all my questions in this thread and if you know the answer it would be much appreciated.

1. What is a carrier?
2. Do carriers still exist?
3. If so, how can I identify and connect to them?
4. What kind of cool stuff is possible to find?
5. How do you find out who someone works for if they randomly pick up and say "Hello?"

Thanks in advance,
Scoobydooble

1. A carrier in the context of a scan can either be a long distance carrier or a carrier tone from a modem, depending on where it's being said.

2. Yes. Very much yes.

3. In the case of long distance carriers, they have access codes that can be dialed from POTS lines. If you're talking about modems, if you have a modem yourself, usually there shouldn't be any problem connecting to the one on the distant end.

4. It depends. Traditionally, phone companies want you to dial a carrier access code with a destination at the end - like, 101-0222-0 or 101-0725-1-202-484-0000. There are some cases where you can just dial # after the carrier access code (101-0725# is actually one that'll work with this) and get a dialtone from the toll switch. What you can do with it really depends on the carrier and how they have it set up. In that particular carrier's case, the only thing I know for sure you can dial are toll-free numbers that're run by that particular carrier. 800-711-3408 comes to mind. If you subscribe to a carrier or call it in an area with a different kind of toll switch, sometimes you'll get a dialtone where you couldn't before.