Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
CrAzYPiLoT

Help?

12 posts in this topic

Hi, I'm new to all of this, not just phreaking, but hacking in general. So my question is: Where can I learn about the telecommunications systems discussed in this forum and all the acronyms, symbols etc.? Hope this belongs here, if not close this :)

Here are the direct links to the original audio files, because fuck Soundcloud (Twitter). Protocol is http://

download.evan-doorbell.com/production/HowBPhreak01.mp3
download.evan-doorbell.com/production/HowBPhreak02.mp3
download.evan-doorbell.com/production/HowBPhreak03.mp3
download.evan-doorbell.com/production/HowBPhreak04.mp3
download.evan-doorbell.com/production/HowBPhreak05.mp3
download.evan-doorbell.com/production/HowBPhreak06.mp3
download.evan-doorbell.com/production/HowBPhreak07-rough.mp3
download.evan-doorbell.com/production/HowBPhreak08.mp3

In fact it may do any beginner well to peruse ALL the production tapes on http://evan-doorbell.com/ as it contains much knowledge about the way Our Lady of the Dial Tone once worked. In addition to the above you may also want to pay specific attention to "Network Sounds of the 70's" and the "Sounds of Long Distance" series for the time being.

There were also several earlier (early 90s) "Off the Hook" episodes that I will link to at a later time (when I find them), where Eric goes over a lot of the stuff in detail about how things work, what it does etc. in terms more relevant to the present tech. Unfortunately even some of that information is becoming obsolete as IP telephony increasingly creeps into the background of the PSTN.

Acronyms: see "The Telephony Acronyms and Abbreviations List from Hell"; Phrack #43, http://textfiles.com/magazines/PHRACK/PHRACK43

Thanks for the replies. One more question, what is POTS used for these days, is it important if I want to phreak, and how can I get that in my country(Serbia)?

Edited by CrAzYPiLoT