MonGoWonGo

Installing USB drivers for the ALFA WiFi AWUS036H adapter on BT51

3 posts in this topic

Hi,

I have used Windows for many years and know my way around the OS. I am new to Linux. I recently installed Backtrack 5.1 Gnome, 32 bit for a dual boot on my Dell laptop. I am trying to install the USB drivers for my ALFA USB WiFi AWUS036H adapter.

I am embarrassed to say how many days I have spent trying to install the drivers. Suffice to say, it has been a humbling experience :(. That having been said, I am determined to succeed.

I went to the ALFA web site and downloaded the Linux Kernal (2.6x) usb drivers (file name: 036H_Linux_26.1040.0820.2010.zip). I unzipped the file to this directory "036H_Linux_26.1040.0820.2010" on my Windows XP machine. I copied the folder to my USB stick and then copied the folder to my BT51 Desktop. This is where the wheels started to fall off :(. I do not know how to proceed.

According to the documentation I found on the Alfa site, I am supposed use the "sudo make" command, then type "sudo make install".

From my BT51 Desktop, I did the following:

root@bt:~/Desktop/036H_Linux_26.1040.0820.2010# sudo make (I hit enter)

make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.39.4/build: No such file or directory. Stop.

make: *** [all] Error 2

I would deeply appreciate ANY guidance that would help me successfully install these drivers. Attached is a screen shot of the driver folder directory.

Thanks!

post-27431-040240900 1327468342_thumb.jp

I am a proud owner of that very same ALFA. And I downloaded the version of BT you mentioned. BT5R1-Gnome

I didn't have to install any drivers, Backtrack had the driver for the RTL8187 chipset, and the ALFA pre-installed. I just plugged it in and since then its worked just fine, for pretty much everything.

Try plugging it in after you log in:

airmon-ng and it should just list your device sorta like:

root@bt:~# airmon-ng

Interface Chipset Driver

wlan0 Realtek RTL8187L rtl8187 - [phy0]

Edited by aredsquare