Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
gsock

Clearing an account completely?

2 posts in this topic

I recently broke up with my girlfriend and deleted her account from my mac. I don't know much about macs(shes the mac pro). I deleted her account and her home file but am paranoid that I did not delete everything and that she has left a virus or keylogger(shes crazy). We were both admins on the computer(if that makes a difference).

Since I deleted her account, are all her installed applications, documents, viruses, etc gone for good? Or do I have to a clean install to be sure?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wiping out her home folder and account will not, for sure, get rid of any applications she might have installed, malicious or not. If you don't know how to track down malicious software the only way you can be sure is to reinstall os x. If you do reinstall, make sure it is a fresh copy, and not an archived install. Go into Disk Manager from the install screen, and delete the partition table, then make brand new partitions for the new install. That way, you'll be sure there is nothing left over from the previous install.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0