epew23

Chrome vs other Browsers

16 posts in this topic

I have been using firefox for about 6 years on windows, mac osx, and Linux, but i hear now that maybe chrome is better? Seeing that really cool potato sommercial made me want to download it. Before i do i just wanted to get your opinion on the matter. I am probably going to run speed tests on both and see if i get a difference. Which do you prefer.

Oh and i know that opera supposadly can handle more load but i have never used or know anyone who uses it, plus is it supported in Linux?

Cool image:

nine_tab_load.png

Here are speed tests.

CHROME!

Firefox

Edited by 5imp7y

Opera does support Linux, or at least they did back in the 90's. Back then there was Netscape (horrible Linux version), Konqueror (Javascript was really off on this), and Opera. I'm sure there were a few more, but those were the best. IMO Opera reigned supreme back then.

I personally like Firefox. But I do run Chrome on my netbook, and on laptops when not plugged in. It just seems a lot more "snappy" when on low powered machines and laptops that throttle back the CPU and graphics when on battery power. Now that browsers are starting to use GPU's for acceleration, having a good browser like Chrome is great for these portable devices with less graphics power.

i do not see why you would need to ask around before installing a browser on your system... it does not take long to download and install...

but here is my 2 cents...

i used chrome for about an hour.... i installed it when it first came out - and there was little to no support for most streaming video formats, which is why i gave up on it..

i use opera mostly for when i am looking for torrents because it has a built in torrent client... this way i do not need other software just for torrents... and when i am done, i just need to close the browser, not remember to close some program hidden in the task bar somewhere...