Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
LiF3L3SS

New + Questions

13 posts in this topic

Hello All,

I have been messing around with computers for a good amount of time now, but was more influenced by Web / Design. I am a graphic designer taking up Multimedia and Design in College, but am soon switching to Computer Information Technology. I have a great understanding and can read / write HTML code as most of you prolly can. You can flame me all you want for being a noobie, I would have to say its part of the tradition. About the only thing I can do is a basic Search - SQL Injection on a Nuke and crack hash using an MD5 site.... Thats about as far as my skills go, I know terrible.

I've always wanted to learn to code, and have a fresh install of VB-2010 Studio. I can get just about any software / ebook I need, but I'm just looking for the direction. All I am really asking is the direction to be pointed to start, and I will go from there asking small questions along the way. Seeing this forum as sort of a Very Smart Frat for example, I am a pledger, so do as you feel, but help show the way. I would love to learn to code, but what I want to code I have no idea. There are so many different types of languages, and from what I understand, once you have a basic understanding of a good language, you will grasp many others fast. Many people tell me to start in C, c#, or VB. I am here to ask what language to start with, and seeing that I am a total noobie to it, can someone point me to the first book I should start with.

I am not asking for much, but all help is greatly appreciated.

Dont be afraid of being new, we were all there once :tongue: and I dont think anyone on these forums will flame you for wanting to learn (besides, it's against the rules to flame in Nubie HQ).