r4p1d

Phone Phreaking

10 posts in this topic

I'm not a Phone phreaker by any means, I'd appreciate it if some of you guys could help me out and send me in the right direction.

I'm a noob at Phreaking, I'd like to change that.

Where do I start?

Scan. Every time someone asks, I tell them the same. The only way you will know the phone system is to go check it out.

Some jerk with the same name as me wrote a couple of articles on the subject a few years back. they can be found on Oldskoolphreak.com, among other places.

Phreaking is mostly a dead art. Most boxes are useless now, and only wardialing might be useful :(

Phreaking is mostly a dead art. Most boxes are useless now, and only wardialing might be useful :(

How exactly can scanning be useful? And how do I go about scanning?

Phreaking is much more than just boxing...

Not to mention, the only boxes that are "useless now" are the Blue, Black, and sometimes Red. All of the other boxes that ever actually worked, still work - although one could argue that many of those were never "useful" to begin with.

I don't understand how Phreaking could be dead in an era when everyone has a phone in their pocket 24/7. Pus VoIP, and Asterisk; it should be more alive than ever... should.

How exactly can scanning be useful? And how do I go about scanning?

http://oldskoolphreak.com/tfiles/phreak/ex_scan.txt

Edited by decoder

You should definitely look into VoIP. That's where I'm at now. Look into Asterisk, and SIP.

PM me and I'll give you a suit of tools for hacking this kind of stuff. I just don't really want this to be available to all the nubs out there.

Not to mention, the only boxes that are "useless now" are the Blue, Black, and sometimes Red. All of the other boxes that ever actually worked, still work - although one could argue that many of those were never "useful" to begin with.