Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Aghaster

PCB Manufacturing

10 posts in this topic

Hi,

I would like to build OpenPCD and OpenPICC, two open hardware projects to which all specifications are given on openpcd.org. The full list of components is available, so I will order them from Digikey. However, a pre-made PCB for OpenPICC is not available from the shop of the OpenPICC project, so I need to make it. The PCB files are in gerber format, so I need to find a PCB manufacturer that accepts that file format. I've never done that kind of stuff before, and I do not know which PCB manufacturer would be the best. There's a pre-made PCB for OpenPCD available in the OpenPCD shop, but I might as well make it be manufactured at the same time as the PCB for OpenPICC and save a little bit of money. Does anybody know a good PCB manufacturer with good prices for what I need? Everything is available on www.openpcd.org if you want to know more about the dimensions of the PCB I need. Thanks a lot :P

PS: I'm asking because there are literally tons of them online and I frankly have no idea which ones are good.

Depending on the pitch of the smallest component's leads, you may be able to make the PCB yourself. I etch my own boards using LaserJet toner transfer -- you print the mirror of your traces on inkjet photo paper, then iron it on to copper clad board. The paper is dissolved off using warm soapy water. What's left is the re-melted toner, which acts as a resist for the etching acid. I've only used ferric chloride, but ammonium persulfate is supposed to give sharper traces. Using this method, I've produced PCBs with .01" traces spaced .01" apart, using 0805 surface mount components.