Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
PirateKing15

Importance of College

49 posts in this topic

In my experience college/uni isnt that important for computer security. If you find the right place to go to then having like minded people around is much more beneficial than actually attending college/uni. Im currently studying Computer Science and while i havent learnt a great deal about computer security i have been forced to learn things that i would otherwise keep putting off. It's also helped to expand my ideas about computing. When i started Uni i wanted to learn more about computer security but now im looking into going into research, maybe AI or cryptography,

Yeah. I am still young(16) but that doesn't mean I can't look towards the future. I am really interested in programming more than anything. I have started C++ three times and stopped for some reason, started Java twice and stopped for some reason. Started Python twice and stopped for some reason. At my age, I have a lot to deal with like school and work and all that so I always end up not having time to dedicate to reading and such. I plan on starting one of the aforementioned again and sticking with it this time. I have more free time now and would like to give it another shot. Although, I am also interested in the computer security field as well. I like to read a lot so that is a big help. I have always been the kind of person that picks things up easily and quickly. I only got interested in computers a year or two ago and I already know quite a bit. Out of the languages I mentioned above, any suggestions? I want it to be one of the three. Although, C# is a possibility as well. It is gaining lots of popularity lately. Seems interesting.