Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
xantr3x

RAM Modification Question

6 posts in this topic

Alright, so as you may know, especially if you were on IRC this time last year, I'm not that good with computer hardware, but I have gained considerable knowledge. So for my problem: I just got 2 sticks of 2gb OCZ Reaper RAM, and they are HUGE because of the heatsinks on them. Now what my problem is is that my CPU cooler extends over my DIMMs, and the 2 sticks won't fit. So these are what I see as my options.

A: I take the fan off of my cooler, as there is a 120mm fan right behind that I presume will pull the hot air from the cooler.

B: I take the fan off of that side of the cooler, find some way to reverse the rotation, and attach it on the other side of the heatsink.

C. Take the heatsinks off of the RAM. They're not that important, as I'm not planning on overclocking the RAM right now, however I realize this will void the warranty.

If I could get your input and/or alternate ideas I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!

Personally i'd take the heatsinks off the RAM. They only seem to be necessary if you want to over clock or water cool.

take the fan off of that side of the cooler, find some way to reverse the rotation, and attach it on the other side of the heatsink.

That would be the hacker thing to do tho :P

A: I take the fan off of my cooler, as there is a 120mm fan right behind that I presume will pull the hot air from the cooler.

No No. That can be a bad idea. Better not risk it

B: I take the fan off of that side of the cooler, find some way to reverse the rotation, and attach it on the other side of the heatsink.

Do not bother

C. Take the heatsinks off of the RAM. They're not that important, as I'm not planning on overclocking the RAM right now, however I realize this will void the warranty.

Ok you have 3 choices now.

1. buy a new CPU heat sink