Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jerm

computer classes in high school

24 posts in this topic

I was just wondering about everyone else's high school computer classes. The ones at my school were a joke just learning office programs or typing.

there was one webdesign class which i never took but it was just html which i already knew about.

so how were the computer classes at your high school?

We had GW-BASIC, though it was self-taught from a book. The computer "teacher" didn't even know how to use her own computer, let alone actually teach anything. She was also famous for paying insane amounts of money for shitty hardware, and blowing the entire (tiny) budget on junk that didn't work. She's still there, but apparently someone else runs the computers now, and she just watches over the lab.

Computer classes in high school are a joke. If you're lucky, you'll have someone understanding who will let you do self-study for credit, or at least let you do it undisturbed. If you're really lucky, you'll have someone who knows what they're talking about, and who will actually teach you things. Though if they knew these things, why would they be working in a high school? High school IT guy/computer teacher is about the bottom rung on the computer career ladder, don't expect much (if anything at all).

Don't lament too much on how High School computer classes are a "joke" and don't teach you anything. Health classes are a joke to people that want to go to med school, drafting classes are a joke to people that want to be engineers, etc etc. Some topics just don't translate well into High School curricula.