Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
zanoza99

School Internet

8 posts in this topic

Hello.

I'm not very good with networking etc.so I have a couple questions.

Basically, im at a boarding high school, and it has limited internet access. By this i mean it shuts off the internet at 11 pm and turns it back on at 5 am.

The thing is, they don't block it, but actually disconnect it (my comp says a network cable is unplugged every time they shut it off.) Up until recently I thought that there was no way to bypass this, but I found out that for some rooms the internet does not shut off.

What I'm trying to find out is how does the school control this? It has a big campus and i really doubt there is a timer set up all the way in the tech office that has a way of controlling every rooms lan plug.

Another thing I know is that every dorm has its separate lan (iTunes sharing playlists go by dorms), so would this mean that this "timer" that shuts off the internet is located somewhere in the dorm and not in the tech office.

I really want know how this system works, so if anyone here could help me out, I'd really appreciate it.

P.S. I don't really want to hear "if your school blocks it, its for a reason etc. kinda stuff. I know its for a reason, but i dont ever go to bed at 11, so I might as well enjoy the internet a little longer".

Also, yes, I know we could put a router in the room that has 24 hour internet, and we did do it, but since there are so many walls, it has very bad range.

Thanks

If they're physically turning off the devices, you can't remotely turn them on. They might be using a socket timer so they don't have to manage it themselves, who knows.

Find the switch they're using. That'll make it easier to tell what's going on.

If they're physically turning off the devices, you can't remotely turn them on. They might be using a socket timer so they don't have to manage it themselves, who knows.