PurpleJesus

Cordless Soldering Iron

17 posts in this topic

I'm thinking of getting a butane or otherwise cordless soldering iron to work on stuff in my car and out in the field.

Does anyone have any experiences with these things? any horror stories? Mostly I want it to solder wires under the hood and under the dash...

Is there one that works well and is safer then the others? I don't want to set my car on fire hooking up a stereo.

I do have a 12 volt DC iron.. but unless I leave the car running, I usually end up with a dead battery by the time I'm done.

there was one on tv that i was seeing a while back i cant remember the name it was like 0 cool or cool touch or some shit like that, and it supposedly cooled off super fast when you turned it off i meant to get one but i hate ordering shit off tv.

Definitely not zero cool ;)Cold Heat. I've had no experience with either this type of butane irons, but I've heard bad things about the Cold Heat iron.

I have a butane portable iron and it works great. Bought for wiring car audio too, now I keep it in my trunk as an indispensable tool.

I've only used it for short periods at a time, it does eat up the butane though and needs filling regularly. I'm not sure about the quality and lifetime of the thing, I haven't had it long enough, but treat it with respect and it's perfectly safe (e.g. the heating element is exposed with a semi-naked flame. Don't go poking it anywhere flammable. Obviously :roll: )

If you get a butane iron, make sure to get the catalytic kind -- they don't require lighting. They do work wonderfully well, but keep a can of butane in the toolbox with them, as mentioned. The one I've used was some generic catalytic type that was being sold very cheaply at a junk/electronics shop on Canal Street in NYC -- we found them during HOPE.