Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
p0d

In your opinion, what is the most useful intergrated circuit ever prod

7 posts in this topic

I am just getting into solid state electronics, and I would have to say that not much beats the 555 IC timer chip... I mean, it seems like you could use it for everything.

:P

I am just getting into solid state electronics, and I would have to say that not much beats the 555 IC timer chip... I mean, it seems like you could use it for everything.

:P

When I read your header, the 555 was what came to my mind. Of my limited knowledge, that is a great chip.

Yeah, to bad I am having a hard time understanding it... >_>

I need to make a driver circuit for a project I am doing, using the TLC555 as it can reach frequencies up to about 2.4Mhz... but I want to understand it first.

Any one here pretty good with 555s?

Anyway, yeah the 555 IC is pretty damn flexible chip.

EDIT:

Also, is there anyway I could design an accurate and cheap circuit that produces freqs around or above 24Ghz? Sorry, this wasn't a post asking for help, but I am trying to get into HAM radio and, well, HVHF electronics in general. My guess is I would have to make my own capacitors for a job like that. Basically, I want to be able to hear what is going on at 175Ghz and above... not that you can do that with a 555 timer IC... Anyway, I have a feeling that either 1) Nobody cells equipment like this to civillians 2) this equipment is expensive to buy, ship and maintain 3) phucking around at such high freqs will get the attention of certain govenrment agencies (not that I care) 4) this is just not attainable with the current technology that is available to the public or even most private organizations.

I think it would be pretty sweet for an amature to get up and above 500Ghz or even 1Thz (wait a second that's just infrared light... oops lol).

Edited by baby-Hackribs