bcrscahh198987

Any point to phreaking?

31 posts in this topic

I'm looking at phreaking as some sort of Latin language. it's a dead language.

Phreaking is not dead... I know... but any personal advantage to study phreaking? I don't want to actually study it to find out all the personal advantages. I just simply want to gain some expert insight into phreaking of how it can be useful to anyone who uses it.

I'm actually studying programming because I'm trying to create a proprietary software for my own use to analyze financial data I find interesting.

I'm also studying social engineering/urban exploration to better navigate through society.

So any reason for me to study phreaking? My time is already divided into studying many subjects, such as math , economics, english, latin, psychology, programming, social engineering, urban exploration, etc.

Any reason for me to study phreaking with my already busy schedule?

I would say no. Phreaking has always seemed, to me, to be something that you just enjoy, not that you take on as a project with goals. I don't see you getting much from it. Phreakers are the guys that are considered cool by hackers because of the stuff they can do, not because they get projects done. Some of the coolest people I've met are phreaks. But, I phreak because I just really love phones, the phone network, telcos bullshitting, the history, and the advances being made. But, I really love the feeling I get when I pick up a phone and realize it's the largest most complex network ever, and that it can connect me to anywhere in the world. It just awws me so much, that I have to spend time trying to understand it. Plus, Phreakers can do some pretty amazing shit, and chicks dig amazing shit(and default radio).

Besides the awesome drugs and sex you get from becoming a huge underground phone phreak rockstar? Yeah, I can't think of any reasons.

Even though I am still a n00b in Phreaking, you have too like and enjoy Phreaking for you to learn it good.