Wanna_Be_Big

Whats the most powerful and versatile programming language?

44 posts in this topic

I'm majoring in CS and we are learning Visual Basic .net. I want to learn a programming language that can be used for anything.

"Powerful" and "versatile" are far too subjective.

Pretty much any programming language can be used to program anything.

Edited by Lugner

Doesn't this subject come up every week or so? There is no "perfect", "best" or "most powerful" language.

• Step 1: Pick a language. Any language really, just don't pick anything really obscure, half finished or ancient at first.
  • Step 2: Learn the language. Learn it well. Reading a 10 part tutorial and typing in the example code is not learning a language.
  • Step 3: Use the language. Continue doing this for some time.
  • Step 4: Analyze the language. Identify any faults you just can't live with. Move on to another language if you feel the need.

I can tell you something, whatever the language is it isn't anything with the words "Visual" or ".NET" in it. Why are they teaching you that awful piece of shit?

Edited by stefanovich

I recommend C or Ada. Maybe I'm old school, but I prefer procedural languages over OOP any day of the week.

Edited by signull

I can tell you something, whatever the language is it isn't anything with the words "Visual" or ".NET" in it. Why are they teaching you that awful piece of shit?

That was my reaction when i found out that we were learning .net. Ima try C.

Any Turing Complete language can do anything another language can do. The trick is in finding a language that makes it easy to do the type of stuff you like to do...

Big fan of scripting and data mining? Use perl!

Like system programming and networking? Use C!

Intrested in microprocessors? Use ASM!

etc, etc...

So I think the real question is what is the best language FOR YOU. Think about what you want to do with it then ask the question again :)