Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
lucidnightmare

Key logger running from a u3 flash drive

26 posts in this topic

I'm a newb, I've read previous posts, but I still can't get a keylogger to auto run of my thumb drive. Like I said its a u3 enabled, cruzer micro 1gb drive. I'm confused about the scripts, finding a free keylogging program to run from the script, and saving the script to the u3 file system. If someone could post step by step instructions that would be great! Thanks!

P.s. when I try to modify the auto run script in u3 it says read access only, does anybody know how to get write access as well?

Edit-- In case your wondering the reason, we're having a problem with kids using the media laptop to check myspace at school and its really annoying and hard to catch them. I'm only in the room maybe 1 or 2 periods a day so its really hard to keep any eye on it. It is the only laptop in the entire school that has admin privledges on the network firewall. On occasion we use a clip or two from youtube or myspace in the monthly video we produce. This is not mallicious in any way!!! (I just read the forum rules).

Edited by lucidnightmare

There's a certain procedure you need to go through to modify the read-only "CDROM" division of a U3 drive. I picked one up cheap last year and managed to figure out how to convince the update utility to write an arbitrary ISO to that division:

http://mcgrewsecurity.com/research/hackingU3/

It set off a good bit of interest in U3 drives for penetration testing. The hak5 show and forums have taken it pretty far from there.

There's a certain procedure you need to go through to modify the read-only "CDROM" division of a U3 drive. I picked one up cheap last year and managed to figure out how to convince the update utility to write an arbitrary ISO to that division:

<a href="http://mcgrewsecurity.com/research/hackingU3/" target="_blank">http://mcgrewsecurity.com/research/hackingU3/</a>