Mizugori

what are some simple beginner's electronic projects? to get starte

29 posts in this topic

I have always wanted to do some DIY electronics stuff (which can certainly be related to hacking in a lot of ways) but the plans I found online were too confusing/complicated to me as a total beginner... at one point I wanted to make my own remote for my PC's volume, but I was intimidated by the plans I found online.

does anyone know of some easy starter projects i could do, that would help me to get started and get comfortable with the complicated process of assembling electronic components?

Read books or sites on electronics before trying to do anything. If you can't read schematics, you won't be able to use plans that make use of standard diagrams and icons. Building electronics is more than just putting things together, you have to understand how to put them together so you don't end up blowing things up or burning things unintentionally. You need to understand electronics before you can do anything else.

They use to have these little books at Radio Shack that would explain the basics of electronics.

But I don't know if Radio Shack carries them anymore.

One place that still sells small project kits is.

http://www.allelectronics.com/

These sites have some good info.

http://www.uoguelph.ca/~antoon/circ/circuits.htm

http://www.ffldusoe.edu/Faculty/Denenberg/...ounds/Index.htm

Let me just add this.

One really cool project to build is one of those tiny FM Transmitters that go on a 9 volt battery and have a one mile range.

I had some much fun with mine and it's great experience with soldering and winding the tiny coils and tuning it.

Good Luck

Edited by carwash

i'm trying to find a wifi card or usb adaptor that will allow me to connect an antenna to it... how can you tell which ones do and which ones don't? i have a netgear card that does not appear to have any place to attach an antenna