Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
yoda64

Steam friends list and hacking

7 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

Sorry for the long post

First of all I'm new to a lot of this. I got myself a copy of "Hacking for Dummies" a couple of days ago, it covers a lot about 'ethical hacking' on networks, although the book is good it doesn't cover what i need.

I studied programming and computer science at school, but i do need to refresh my memory :P

I finished school last year and now i find myself playing LOTS of Counter Strike Source :P

It infuriates me when i'm playing and someone starts cheating/hacking.

Valves Anti-Cheat system is useless against many new hacks and admins are unreliable as they aren't on often enough and it can take WEEKS for them to view a demo and ban the hacker. And the servers I play on don't support votekick/voteban commands.

Recently there was an *evil* person hacking away, annoying everyone on the server and there was nothing we could do about it.

Another player, who's name i don't remember, said that he hacked into the persons computer and saw what hacks he was using. I asked him how he did it and he said he could get in through the Steam Friends list (FYI Steam Friends is the IM-service thats built into Steam and can be used while playing any Steam games), he wouldn't elaborate anymore than that : (

My questions are:

1. Can i hack a persons computer using the Steams Friends list?

2. How can i do it?

This next one could be considered malicious, if it is just ignore it and i'll edit it ASAP

3. Can u tell me how to either crash or stop there game. NOT THE COMPUTER, JUST THE GAME.

i.e. if i wanted to stop the game running on my computer i could minimize the game, open the task manager and end the 'hl2.exe' process. Can i do this on the *evil* persons computer?

Last but not least