spinsane

New to linux, interested in vhosts and psybnc

10 posts in this topic

A little background. I have some nix experience from shell accounts, so I know syntax and command line stuff decently. I just installed Xubuntu (Minimal) on a p3 533 with 128mb ram.

I'm completely new to owning my own domain name as well.

As a project, I'd like to somehow point one (or possibly more) of my domains to this box and use them as vhosts with the psybnc irc program. I'm so new to this I don't even really know what to search for. I found the following link here, but it wasn't too specific outside of saying I'd need a reverse DNS server.

I know I could just buy a shell and run it with pre-existing vhosts, but what's the fun in that?

Thanks for any leads... as I said, I have no clue as to what to even search for.

Edited by spinsane

you need to get named(bind) setup this will be your dns server and setup the zones among other things that you want. and have your registrar point to your ns(name servers)

For the vhosts to be reflected on IRC, meaning your host is spinsane@home.spinsane.com, you have to get a PTR record for your IP address and unfortunately unless you have an awesome ISP, you won't get one.

For the vhosts to be reflected on IRC, meaning your host is spinsane@home.spinsane.com, you have to get a PTR record for your IP address and unfortunately unless you have an awesome ISP, you won't get one.

Thanks. Thats exactly what my research on IRC was leading me to believe. Which, seems unfortunate. I doubt Brighthouse offers this service. From this point I think I have a couple options.

1) Scrap the whole thing. Use the box as a router. This is what I'm leaning towards anyway, as my router atm is kind of a POS and runs out of Virtual Services as is when I'm trying to forward ports.