gloomer

Torrent clients for linux

32 posts in this topic

I'm new to the linux desktop seen but i'm familiar with command line <3

Is there anything like Utorrent for linux? I'm curious. Or are all the good ones just for windows.

Please let it not be so.

Inform me.

I use KTorrent, it's pretty decent. It's a bit like utorrent, only not quite as good. Utorrent is probably one of the best torrent clients out there, it's hard to match it. Apart from ktorrent, I've used the bittorrent client and bittornado, both of which are decent for "light" use.

I've used Azureus under Linux; it's alright. I've started using uTorrent in a virtual machine, though. I haven't tried it with wine yet.

I tried Azureus, but it consumed all of my RAM. I'm not joking either. I just don't understand how it uses so much RAM.

As for running utorrent in a virtual machine, or even on Wine. I think that's pretty silly. Linux has no shortage of native clients. So they're not exactly like utorrent, but they get the job done, no?

I run uTorrent with wine. It works great for me. I tried azureus but I didn't like it.

I tried Azureus, but it consumed all of my RAM. I'm not joking either. I just don't understand how it uses so much RAM.

As for running utorrent in a virtual machine, or even on Wine. I think that's pretty silly.

I like Azureus but it is very heavy and if you can't spare the ram you should maybe shy away from it. I use uTorrent running in a vm however using SeamlessRDP it appears as though the client is running natively in linux. Also the vm is locally networked to the linux machine so that the file that is being downloaded is stored outside of the vm. However again, in my case I have the processing power to spare to do this, if you are running on a small machine you might be happy with something like rTorrent (which is very nice from what I understand, but have never used it).