Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Divo

(free)BSD

33 posts in this topic

Before I start i want to apologise if this becomes a bit of an essay.

Today, because of hardware issues, I did a little research into BSD, particularly FreeBSD. I liked what i read. The development model and Ports Tree really appeal to me. But before I go and put it on my box I'd like a few questions answered and to hear a few personal opinions. (To late, but before i get to stuck in)

1) Development. Is developing on BSD anyway similar to developing on Linux. I'm not talking about deployment, I'm talking about sockets and kernel interactions, stuff like that. I know that C is C, but it has to change with the environment (yes?) Is there anything majorly complex about it? The thing I'm most interested is documentation. I'm just starting to learn how to program, and was wondering if BSD is a newbie friendly/tolerant environment in which to learn. Most of the "Learn C" type books center around a Windows environment and sometimes Linux (Except K&R, i know that much)

2) Basic operation. Does BSD take a while to get used to. Is it fairly simple or does it take a lot of abstract thought?

Like i said, I have done some research but I really want to hear some personal opinions.

Thanks in advance. :)