Vangald

Unix Shell For Windows

13 posts in this topic

I would like to get a Unix shell or something that acts like a Unix shell (at least enough for me to practice with) on an older system running win2k. I don't want to make it into a dual boot system. I know there is cygwin but it seems too bloated for what I plan to do (mainly practicing shell scripting and such). Also I would prefer it to be separate from the windows command prompt (I know there are alot of command line tools that gives access to gnu utilities) or at least would run automatically when the command prompt is started (i.e. I wouldn't have to run the progs every time I start the command prompt or have to run from a specified folder to access their abilities).

I have done some searching already and ran across Windows Services for Unix and UWIN so far. Does anyone have any experience with these? Anyone know of any others?

I am new to shell scripting and I figured this would be the best way for me to practice.

As always any help would be appreciated.

cygwin, is your best bet. it really doesn't get any better then that, in windows

Edited by arewhyainn

I believe Cygwin will be the closest you can get in Winderz.

An alternative would be to hack something up that'll take a shell command and then execute it using it's Windows' equivalent.. except, Cygwin would probably be much easier/better (this suggestions shouldn't be taking seriously). heh

Windows Services for UNIX is not what you're looking for. It's for providing Windows-based services to UNIX, not being able to use a UNIX shell on Windows.

How bout a small distro running inside of QEMU? Like DSL embedded. Virtualized linux session.

I thought about that but I don't know if it would be a very good idea on a P3 800mhz comp. I would assume it would cause the system to run at a crawl.