epew23

Phreaking on a loop line

10 posts in this topic

I was searching on phreaking cause i am a newb when it comes to phone related vandalisum, but this was among the top results:

The Phreaker's Guide to Loop Lines courtesy of the Jolly Roger

A loop is a wonderous device which the telephone company created as test numbers for telephone repairmen when testing equipment. By matching the tone of the equipment with the tone of the loop, repairmen can adjust andtest the settings of their telephone equipment.

A loop, basically, consists of two different telephone numbers. Let's use A and B as an example. Normally if you call A, you will hear a loud tone (this is a 1004 hz tone), and if you call B, the line will connect, and will be followed by silence.

This is the format of a loop line. Now, if somebody calls A and someone else calls B--Viola!--A and B loop together, and one connection is made. Ma Bell did this so repairmen can communicate with each other without having to call their own repair office. They can also use them to exchange programs, like for ANA or Ringback. Also, many CO's have a "Loop Assignment Center". If anyone has any information on these centers please tell me.

Anyway, that is how a loop is constructed. From this information, anyone can find an actual loop line. Going back to the A and B example, Note: the tone side and the silent side can be either A or B. Don't be

fooled if the phone company decides to scramble them around to be cute.

As you now know, loops come in pairs of numbers. Usually, right after

each other.

For example: 817-972-1890

and

817-972-1891

Or, to save space, one loop line can be written as 817-972-1890/1.

This is not always true. Sometimes, the pattern is in the tens or hundreds, and, occaisionally, the numbers are random.

In cities, usually the phone company has set aside a phone number suffix that loops will be used for. Many different prefixes will correspond with that one suffix.