AgentVodka

Ubuntu Vs. Debian

36 posts in this topic

I have an AMD 64 dual core that I want to install linux on. I am new to linux and am trying to choose which distro to use. I have been reading alot about the different distros and have narrowed it down to Debian and Ubuntu. I'm looking to use this box to learn linux and experiment with server setups/networking etc.. It seems like Ubuntu would be more forgiving for a noob, but debian has more to offer in terms of control and server support. I am confused and would really like input from someone with experience.

Also has anyone used a dual core with these distros, I know you have to use the right smp kernel to take advantage of the dual core but other than that is everything smooth?

I'd say go with Ubuntu. Anything you can do on Debian you can do on Ubutnu (as well as most other distrobutions). If you want you can get the server install of ubuntu and configure it the way you want or just get the 64bit desktop version and install whatever server apps you want. Ubutnu is also more noob friendly on some of the more mundane tasks such as getting drivers working and stuff like that.

Debian and Ubuntu arent that much different.. But I'd say ubuntu, its an easier install

edit: spelling

Edited by hbp71605

I have a question about ubuntu, how do you get to the desktop from the command prompt that starts up automaticly when you boot up?

I have a question about ubuntu, how do you get to the desktop from the command prompt that starts up automaticly when you boot up?

"startx"

Ubuntu is based off of Debian. The main difference I've seen between the two is that Ubuntu actually works, Debian doesn't. Every time I have tried installing debian, something (and often multiple things) has fucked up a lot. So yeah, go with Ubuntu.