Snippet

Ports list

23 posts in this topic

This is the situation, I have a friend that has giving me full consent to try and access his system from my house. Therefore I used Tcpview to get his ip and I have used NetScanTools 4.12 (Port Probe) to see wich ports he had open. Now I found one, and since im not very good with networking (going to get a book tomorow :D ) I need some help. The port is [00110-TCP-pop3]

Now I would like to know what the pop3 means. Im guessing that 00110 is the port number and that TCP means that its not UDP

Once I know what the service on the port is, I can use an exploit to enter the system, this is correct?

Edited by Snippet

pop3 is post office protocol. it delivers emails. tcp is transmission control protocol, udp is user datagram protocol.yeah 00110 is port 110 which is what pop3 runs on. and yeah if you find an exploit for a service running on an open port you can exploit it.

Thx, now is there a website with all of the ports listed? and mayby a site with all of the newer exploits.

Tcp means it is tcp (see rfc 793) not just that it's not udp. ICMP is not udp, but it is also not tcp. As for the port, yes 110 is the pop3 port, you might want to look at the protocol documentation in rfc 1939.

This is the situation, I have a friend that has giving me full consent to try and access his system from my house. Therefore I used Tcpview to get his ip and I have used NetScanTools 4.12 (Port Probe) to see wich ports he had open. Now I found one, and since im not very good with networking (going to get a book tomorow :D ) I need some help. The port is [00110-TCP-pop3]

Now I would like to know what the pop3 means. Im guessing that 00110 is the port number and that TCP means that its not UDP

Once I know what the service on the port is, I can use an exploit to enter the system, this is correct?

RFC?

And I cant seem to find an exploit for this, any good sites?

Edited by Snippet