Debris

Learning C

21 posts in this topic

Can anybody give me a link to a very good online free tutorial of C for windows users?

Can anybody give me a link to a very good online free tutorial of C for windows users?

Well this isn't an online link but there are several excellent hardcopy books on the subject. Don't let the price scare you off as you can either check them out from the library or just sit down in the book store (Barnes and Nobels etc etc) and read them. My personal favorite is "An Absolute Beginners Guide to C" but there really are a million of them out there.

I tend to reserve my online searching for when I have a specific question/issue that isn't in whatever physical books I have. Also the linux man pages can be a huge help (most of the time).

-Dr^ZigMan

I agree with Dr^ZigMan, online tutorials are ok, but nothing beats a good book. I personaly havn't tried "An Absolute Beginners Guid to C" but I love "C Primer Plus" by Stephen Prata. It's an awsome book. Also windows specific c programming is more an advanced topic the subject matter in most c books will be platfom non-specific, although they will usualy have a section devoted to the various platforms how to compile and what to use etc. hope that helps, and happy coding ;-)

well i like doing what the book teaches at the same time as i learn it so i think im going to go with the libray option....school starts tomorrow so ill have less time to devote to learning important stuff.....so i geuss its going to take longer than it could.

This actually saddens me. I have two books here, The C Programming Language, And Advanced Unix Programming. I have picked up neither and you are in need of a book. :( But nope, i ain't givin' you neither. :P Haha. I'm going to read 'em.

what about when youre done? could ya mail them...and when im done ill mail them right back...well actually just the book about c is the one i need.