01dsk001

Small Linux Distro

17 posts in this topic

I am getting and old 133mhz Laptop soon and would like some ideas for a linux distro that would run well on it. I am new to linux so the easier a setup the better. The laptop will be mainly to learn linux and do some programming.

If at all possible install linux on a desktop. I would recommend finding drivers for all your devices (linux) and burning them on a CD or something. If space is an issue damn small linux should work well. Have you thought about linux live! cds like knoppix?

I've got an old PII that runs great with DSL (HD install). Still have a bunch of stuff to configure on it, and setting up XFree86 was a pain, but it's working, and it's fast.

try debian, it does well with a very small amount of hard disk space. I have it installed on a 10 year old Pentium 133 box with 4 gigs of total hard drive space (2 hd's in it) and it works great. I still haven't been able to configure Xfree86 right (Psypher impart some wisdom on me plz), but i don't have as much of a desire to (cause desktop's r for n00bs).

Edited by Dr. Z2A

It may be a little different on Debian, as the DSL HD install had a few quirks of it's own, but I believe I spent an hour dicking around with X86Setup and manually editing my X86 Config file to limit the resolution to 800x600.

There's also the option (with DSL, not sure if Debian has it) of booting at the LILO prompt with "fb[Width]x[Height]". That sets the framebuffer to use the resolution you specify, which in my case was "fb800x600."

Hope that helps, or at least points you in the right direction. :)

May I suggest slackware? It can be as small or as large as you want it to be... It runs awesome on all my old machines.

If at all possible install linux on a desktop. I would recommend finding drivers for all your devices (linux) and burning them on a CD or something. If space is an issue damn small linux should work well. Have you thought about linux live! cds like knoppix?