Mr Poop

I found an SBC Charge-a-Call today

22 posts in this topic

I lost my digital camera. I'll try to swing by today to take a film based picture, but who knows when I will get it uploaded.

Film owns digital anyway.

Now since I'm an SBC noob I am wondering what the difference is with a "Charge-a-Call" phone ?

"charge-a-call" is something the Bell System introduced way back in the late 1970s; basically it's a coinless public telephone where the only method of paying for calls is by charging them to a credit card, calling card, or third number. One can, of course, also make collect calls from charge-a-call stations.

http://www.roamer1.org/pix/phones/chargeacall.jpg

oh ok I get it. in the "ghetto" here they made it so none of the payphones take coins and only accept credit/collect/3rd party/etc calls. I guess too many people were trying to rob the phones.

In a lot of the world all the phones are like such, except maybe not accepting credit cards, but specially bought phone cards. It makes more sense, but then again a lot of the world uses payphones more than we do, and perhaps back when payphones were still in they thought the benefits of accepting coins outweighed the disadvantages. Of course I know in Europe payphones call also do all kinds of cool stuff, even send SMS.

Of course I know in Europe payphones call also do all kinds of cool stuff, even send SMS.

Imagine there is a payphone that accepts coins, chip cards and allows you to send emails and sms messages and it still is not a multimedia kiosk :D

Payphone

Yea, it was the phone I saw in Poland and what you told me about that made me think of that stuff :)

What would be really cool was if the payphone could take incoming SMS :)