• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 oneeyedelf1

oneeyedelf1

SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

• Members
  • 340 posts

Posted 21 July 2004 - 09:46 PM

I have reciently reinstalled linux (gentoo) ((I never seem to get enogh time to give linux for a decent time to learn and end up formating over it, because it just sits there)), just so I can play with apache and php and mysql. And well im kinda new to poking around with webpages but I find the power of php amazing. And well I have been hired to be a rescon for my college in the fall. And the guy that hired me basically explained that the first few weeks I would be going around to peoples computers and running a scanner for something like SASSER. And I was like why should I walk around and play with everyones pc, kinda gets annoying. Don't get me wrong I will walk around and try and meet everyone. It's one of the great things to do with your spare time the first few weeks of school. But basically I just wanna do this just grap their IP with php, run the program with the IP as a parameter, and be able to get the output and parse it.

So basically I need some help cause I dont wanna forget a common worm & its ploit pair. I need a list of those common pesky worms and pointers for scanning for them on linux. I have found a few scanners for certain ploits for windows, but that doesnt really help me here. Help?

#2 bankrupt

bankrupt

SCRiPT KiDDie

• Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 08:29 AM

Basicaly you can use some basic snort rules, ie trafic on well known ports used by virus. I have never done something like this but if seen it, and it is effective.

Here are a few links I found about snort ids.

a snort-user group (snort MySQL, PHP, and ACID)
Intrusion Detection with SNORT (can be adopted to virus)
some scripts
snortcenter

here are a few virus, trojan, and Backdoors ports.
ONCTek's list of known Trojan/Backdoors and the TCP/UDP ports on which they operate.