• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Bi0s

Bi0s

Gibson Hacker

• Agents of the Revolution
  • 95 posts

Posted 10 January 2003 - 10:55 PM

Ok. I'll admit it, I'm a total noob at wifi.
So i get a wifi card for christmas. Free! can't beat that. It's a linksys, not the best but it works.
Install net stumbler, and off i go. I find nothing. Nothing at all in my home town.
then tonight, I venture off to the city. and walla, I didn't spend much time there, but i found 4 AP's.

attatched is the NetStumbler file if anyone wats to see it.
I'd really like to know where to go next . I've never used wifi before, so I'm sorta lost. But I have to say I LOVED it! seeing those networks pop up it was sweet!

Attached Files

#2 StankDawg

StankDawg

same old Dawg, no new tricks

• Moderating Team
  • 8,073 posts

Posted 10 January 2003 - 11:44 PM

bi0s, I am totally with you. Almost the same circumstances, except you are a day ahead of me. I installed netstumbler Wednesday and was going to give it a shot this weekend. Unfortunately, I have a cisco card and it is not supported by netstumbler. I am hoping it still might work, under winXP it says that some cadrs may work even though they are listed as unsupported.

Also, just as another test, I brought along my USB wifi adapter. It may look dumb, hanging off the side of the lappy, but if it works, I dont give a fukk! :)

#3 feend

feend

microphone commander

• Members
  • 497 posts

Posted 10 January 2003 - 11:52 PM

TERRORIST!

I still have cat5 (and cat5e) all over my room. Wish I could get a free WiFi card :( .

#4 StankDawg

StankDawg

• Moderating Team
  • 8,073 posts

Posted 11 January 2003 - 12:46 AM

ok, my cisco card worked! Well, at least here in my office, it picked up the WAP right next to it. <_< But that is a start! At least I know it works!

I guess the next step is to start with a little ghettodriving here in my neighborhood.

#5 Bi0s

Bi0s

Gibson Hacker

• 95 posts

Posted 11 January 2003 - 04:16 AM