5 replies to this topic

#1 Kilifili

Kilifili

Will I break 10 posts?

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 August 2014 - 04:59 AM

Hi guys, 

I'm new to the world of pentesting and want to setup my lab at home for practice. I'm thinking of following hardware and S/W config for my system. Please let me know your thoughths on this.
Intel i3/i5 (3.2 ghz)
8 gb DDR3 ram
250 GB HDD
Windows 7 64 bit)

Kindly let me know your thoughts on this.

#2 tekio

tekio

5(R1P7 |<1DD13

• Binrev Financier
  • 1,102 posts

Posted 17 August 2014 - 12:27 PM

With only one box, you'll want to run Virtual Box or another virtual solution. To learn security, you wan to learn as many operating systems as possible. Honestly, instead of an i3 -or- i5, I'd get a AMD 8core for the money. IMO, when investing in a new machine, I always get the biggest baddest CPU, then build around that. 

Don't get an i3. They are slow and under perform. For about $20 more than a 3.2Ghz i5, you could get this: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819113346

Or you could save $100, and put in another 8GB of RAM and get this:

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819113327

Again, you'll need a graphics card too, as those AMD's are not an APU. Here's a decent AMD with a GPU:

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819113360