Photo
- - - - -

Computers 101? What to read, what to do to get reel smart?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 googlyelmo

googlyelmo

Will I break 10 posts?

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 March 2012 - 04:12 PM

I am in fact an ultra-noob here at BR, and regarding hacking/computer internals/programming. I am not nearly as geeky as I want and need to be. Maybe you can help me with that.

I have been using computers, almost all of them Macs since the late 80's. I know my way around the OS X command line well enough to take care of (maintain, troubleshoot) my Intel Macs, and a bit more. Enough *nix also to install/boot/run apps, and VERY basic maintenance/troubleshooting as well. Only enough WIndows to use the machine as an appliance. I also have a very solid background in electronic hardware (an extra-class ham since 1982, so I have built, modified, repaired all sorts of solid state and hollow circuits, from power supplies on up, whole radios, amplifiers, and a few red/blue/beige/tron boxes back when they still worked, and I know much of the theory behind that stuff), such is my C.V. I survived HV circuit building with only a few electrical burns, so I can't be all that dumb. . .

I need a general primer in computer science, along with its history. And I want to start at the lowest, machine level and work up. All the books I have on Mac and Unix and Linux don't really explain or show what a computer really is, how it is constructed, what makes it work, and how people make use of them. Not in a really basic, transistor-by-transistor, switch-by-switch, register-by-register explanation. From Colossus/Eniac up to Cray 85XK. Hardware, software, programming (from Fortran to Objective-C), hardware (from Octal tube-based to beyond Haswell), from the lowest hardware level to natural language & AI. And all the other things I left out because I am a raw noob & don't know any better. Not a project for a weekend, or even a single year of weekends, of course.