• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 skywanter

skywanter

SCRiPT KiDDie

• Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 20 January 2012 - 03:32 PM

I'm a student at pitt and have a few questions about their Centrex system that I've been poking around a bit with lately. Any documentation on such systems would be really great, I am really clueless about centrexes in general, I don't even know who made them, if they're like hosted off a switch or something, etc. The telephones in the dorms are avaya but i doubt that relates at all to the system itself; they could be any standard DTMF phone. All I know is that the centrex was installed in 1973 and it seems like very little has changed since then.

When you pick up the phone, there's no big kerplunk of what I believe to be the battery drop on a 5ESS or anything, just dialtone, but you can tell its not a digital one. The system accepts no pulse dialing at all , although if you flash on the dialtone you do get a very pronounced battery drop (I might be using this term incorrectly), and the flash itself is kind of interesting. I drew a little diagramy thing to demonstrate this one thing that happens:

normal dialone -> you hit flash -> get a burst of the same dialtone as before -> batt drop (or at least loud chk-CHK!) -> new dialtone

If you hit a digit during the "get a burst of the same dialtone as before) segment, during the new dialtone phase, the centrex will have already responded to it (so if you hit zero during the "old burst", you won't even get a dialtone during the "new dialtone" phase, just a ring to the operator). I realize this is a pretty insignificant phenomena but hey, it's 2012, and you should be damn happy there's even a soul posting here. Hopefully this could help identify the system.

Dialing plan. Here's where the most of my exploration has been so far.