• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 lickfrog

lickfrog

Will I break 10 posts?

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 May 2011 - 07:50 PM

::Is it possible to copy or read the Win SAM file while running Windows?

I was wondering if its possible to programmatically copy or read the Windows SAM file while Windows is still running? If so, would it just be a matter of writing a low-level copy function; can this be done using python? Most of my programming knowledge is in python but i do have some experience with C++ so if not than i think i could figure it out. I know its possible to use third-party utilities and bootable media to do this but would really like to learn how to do it on my own.

BTY: This is my first post on the forum (total noob) and I wasn't sure if this was the right place to post. Im a network science major so i have some experience and general knowledge of the topics on this forum so feel free to correct me if ever Im wrong.

Edited by lickfrog, 09 May 2011 - 10:25 PM.

#2 TheFunk

TheFunk

SUP3R 31337

• Binrev Financier
  • 185 posts

Posted 09 May 2011 - 09:23 PM

I've never tried but I've heard that something like PWDump might be able to do that for you. My guess though is that it would be annoyingly hard to do, and nothing like simple file copying. I've always just used a Linux live distro. Also you're going to need to get the syskey (system file) as well if you want to be able to crack the password hashes from the SAM. I recently wrote a simple Java file-copy program, maybe it's worth giving a go. Hopefully that helps some?

#3 lickfrog

lickfrog

Will I break 10 posts?

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 May 2011 - 10:39 PM