Photo
- - - - -

VMware Player

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 zwei

zwei

I broke 10 posts and all I got was this lousy title!

• Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 18 January 2011 - 10:24 PM

I am trying to connect two virtual machines in VMware Player to teach myself how to use metasploit. As such, I want to make sure the two virtual machines are only connected to each other and can't actually get online. I'm very new to metasploit and I want to make sure everything is contained.

From what I understand, I think I can create a virtual serial port to connect them through.The problem is that I don't fully understand how to do this. If I go into the Virtual Machine Settings, then click the add button, bringing up the add hardware wizard, I get an option for setting up a serial port. If I choose serial port and hit the next button, I am then given the options of a physical serial port on the host (I think this is the one I definitely don't want to do), output to file, and output to socket.

I've tried to find some info on this myself, but can't seem to find anything I can make sense of. If anyone could explain these different options, how to set them up, or explain what I want to be using to make sure none of this stuff gets out of the virtual machines, I would be very grateful.

#2 mungewell

mungewell

SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

• Agents of the Revolution
  • 376 posts

Posted 19 January 2011 - 12:01 PM

I am trying to connect two virtual machines in VMware Player to teach myself how to use metasploit. As such, I want to make sure the two virtual machines are only connected to each other and can't actually get online. I'm very new to metasploit and I want to make sure everything is contained.

AFAIK the virtual serial ports are only to connect to/from the host machine and the VMWARE client machine. I did use a app for bonding/looping back serial ports (which would run on the host machine), but can't remember the name of it at the moment.