• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 johnnymanson

johnnymanson

SUP3R 31337

• Members
  • 175 posts

Posted 04 December 2010 - 11:42 AM

I have a new job at a small university. My background is electronics, computers and networking. I have no phone system experience but my boss has set me up with admin rights on the phone system. I think he expects me to learn the system on my own. This seems like it could be very interesting and I would like to pick it up quickly to make a good impression, earn more money, etc. The system is Avaya. We have a SIP server and a Telephony server. About all I know so far is how to setup an IP phone and get it working on the system. We use Avaya Communications Manager and the Native Client on the telephony side. On the SIP server I just login and interact with it using a GUI.

I'm looking for suggestions on quickly learning the system. I have no malicious intentions and just want to do a good job. Any help or suggestions from the group will be greatly appreciated.

#2 Havoc

Havoc

"I Hack, therefore, I am"

• Agents of the Revolution
  • 923 posts

Posted 05 December 2010 - 03:59 PM

tell your boss that this system can be pwned so if he expects any positive outcome of having you as a sysop; an investment in course for you is a must

https://www.avaya-learning.com/

#3 johnnymanson

johnnymanson

SUP3R 31337

• Members
  • 175 posts

Posted 05 December 2010 - 06:37 PM

tell your boss that this system can be pwned so if he expects any positive outcome of having you as a sysop; an investment in course for you is a must

https://www.avaya-learning.com/

Thanks for the input. I will try and get some official training. At this point I am looking for something like a quick introduction to get me started. I have looked at some of the info available on the Avaya web site and have already learned a little there. I am just looking for something that I can get online and free for now.