• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 PhantomSniper

PhantomSniper

Will I break 10 posts?

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 06:14 PM

Hey everyone! I just joined and it seems like an immensely helpful website after reading a couple of posts. Anyway, I'm just beginning to learn hacking, and the book I'm using is focusing on passwords. I'm using Brutus Password Cracker, but when I try to attack any target other than myself (127.0.0.1), Brutus says it can not verify the target. How do I fix this? Thanks in advance, everyone!

P.S. I know about 2% of the hacking vocabulary, so please try to speak in as much basic English as possible!

#2 sshsilver

sshsilver

Will I break 10 posts?

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 20 October 2010 - 08:28 AM

Ok you haven't done yourself any favours by using the words: "I try to attack another target." No one here will teach you malicious techniques. It's not how they roll. If you had said something like:

"I am using brutus to check the security of my private network, and I am having issues" then people would probably be able to help... And by "help" I mean tell you:

Internet Browser --> Google.com --> Search : Brutus Manual / Tutorial.

PS: What book are you using which suggests Brutus by the way?

#3 PhantomSniper

PhantomSniper

Will I break 10 posts?

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 October 2010 - 02:55 PM

Ok you haven't done yourself any favours by using the words: "I try to attack another target." No one here will teach you malicious techniques. It's not how they roll. If you had said something like:

"I am using brutus to check the security of my private network, and I am having issues" then people would probably be able to help... And by "help" I mean tell you:

Internet Browser --> Google.com --> Search : Brutus Manual / Tutorial.

PS: What book are you using which suggests Brutus by the way?