• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Kinslayer

Kinslayer

the 0ne

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 April 2010 - 09:22 PM

Ok, so I live in an apartment and have a wireless router for my internet. I gave the password to access the internet of my wireless router to my neighbor so they could get the internet. I now would love to sniff my own router, and to log what information passes through. See what they're passing through my router. How would I go about doing this? I am new to hacking, and my brain is still kind of stuck in 1994 and windows 3.1 Help :)

-Kinslayer

#2 tekio

tekio

5(R1P7 |<1DD13

• Binrev Financier
  • 1,116 posts

Posted 03 April 2010 - 10:26 PM

If you're using a WiFi card that supports promiscuous mode and the Wlan is using wep just fire-up wireshark. Otherwise, you'll need to use ARP poisoning with a tool like Cain & Abel. The biggest drawback with the latter is that most host-based av/firewall suites now detect and prevent APR (Arp Poison Routing).

#3 phr34kc0der

phr34kc0der

SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

• Members
  • 469 posts

Posted 03 April 2010 - 11:19 PM

As tekio said you can either use a packet capture tool (such as wireshark) or do some kind of traffic redirection (arp poisoning). Backtrack is a linux live cd which will allow you to do either. Id say that arp poisoning would be more reliable and would also give you the option of playing with the traffic :tongue: but it is more detectable.

A third option would be to place a computer between the wireless router and the Internet connection. Depending on the type of connection you have and the type of hardware you have lying around something could be hacked together pretty quickly.

#4 MrFluffy

MrFluffy

HACK THE PLANET!

• Validating
  • 68 posts

Posted 05 April 2010 - 03:44 AM