• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Powermaniac7

Powermaniac7

mad 1337

• Members
  • 138 posts

Posted 05 December 2009 - 03:20 AM

Ok I have heard you need a variation of Linux such as Ubuntu for programming/hacking. I am wondering what you think is the best one to use especially considering I am new to Linux and haven't used it before. I tried installing Ubuntu using the CD method and have had so many problems with it e.g. the build-essential packages not working off of the CD and then when I redownloaded them off the net them didn't work once again.

So anyone got suggestions/ideas to help me out I would appreciate it. Also if it is able to be installed off of a USB that would be great and alot easier thanks.

Oh forgot one thing I also would like it if I was able to keep windows and my programs/games still on my computer so I have two separate OS. And it doesn't have to be a Linux based OS just any OS like Solaris (whatever that is?).

Edited by Powermaniac7, 05 December 2009 - 03:26 AM.

#2 dinscurge

dinscurge

"I Hack, therefore, I am"

• Members
  • 936 posts

Posted 05 December 2009 - 03:29 AM

well what do you want? if you want apt you can use debian/sidux/ubuntu or w.e., you can try redhat, you can try opensuse, gentoo w.e. they arent all that hard.

#3 Powermaniac7

Powermaniac7

mad 1337

• Members
  • 138 posts

Posted 05 December 2009 - 04:06 AM

I don't really know anything to do with Linux or the many versions of Linux I'm a newbie to hacking and have just heard I need Linux or something like that. So I just wanted to know which one does everyone find to be the best or they prefer or whatever because I don't really care which one. All I care is I can somewhat easily use it and easily use it to hack and learn to hack. Oh and be able to use C++.

#4 dinscurge

dinscurge

• Members
  • 936 posts

Posted 05 December 2009 - 04:19 AM