Photo
- - - - -

Decompiling a program of unknown language

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Zeldo

Zeldo

I broke 10 posts and all I got was this lousy title!

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 October 2009 - 07:09 PM

Does anyone have any suggestions to get what language a program was written in and decompile it? The program is not commercial, its a free bot that I want to see how works and it seems the developer quit even visiting the site. I will attach the program, any help is appreciated.

P.S. Coulden't find a better section, as I am a newbie and this didn't fit in anywhere else. Please move it if I posted it in the wrong section.

Thanks, Zeldo.

Attached File  FarmVilleBot.zip   1.32MB   6 downloads

Edited by Zeldo, 15 October 2009 - 07:10 PM.

#2 rainwater_stillicide

rainwater_stillicide

SUP3R 31337 P1MP

• Agents of the Revolution
  • 282 posts

Posted 15 October 2009 - 07:28 PM

Does anyone have any suggestions to get what language a program was written in and decompile it? The program is not commercial, its a free bot that I want to see how works and it seems the developer quit even visiting the site. I will attach the program, any help is appreciated.

P.S. Coulden't find a better section, as I am a newbie and this didn't fit in anywhere else. Please move it if I posted it in the wrong section.

Thanks, Zeldo.

farmvillebot.exe appears to have been written using Delphi.

I have no idea about decompiling it.

#3 Zeldo

Zeldo

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 October 2009 - 07:29 PM

Thanks, Zeldo.

farmvillebot.exe appears to have been written using Delphi.

I have no idea about decompiling it.

Thank you, can you tell me how you came to this conclusion?

Or if anyone has an idea of how this program actually works that would be great, I'm just trying to figure out the inner workings, I don't need the source code if someone can explain it to me.

Thanks, Zeldo.

Edited by Zeldo, 15 October 2009 - 07:32 PM.