texas raised

Will I break 10 posts?

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 10:08 PM

looking for a mentour

dont know anything
started reading about c not c++
that just confused me more. i just think there is a place to start i just need to find
like a before you learn how to hack
and i mean hack in the since of id like to make a future out of computer based work
and if not a mentour maybe point me in the right direction
and dont say html or c because i already looked
somthing before that

if u cant tell by now
im a major newb

#2 dinscurge

dinscurge

"I Hack, therefore, I am"

• Members
  • 937 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 10:36 PM

you should check out http://www.ruby-lang.org/en/, http://www.python.org/, or http://www.perl.org/

#3 Ohm

Ohm

I could have written a book with all of these posts

• Members
  • 3,209 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 10:55 PM

Starting is hard. Like anything, there's a learning curve and as this is not a trivial task, the curve is rather steep and quite high.

Pick a programming language and learn it. Knowing a programming language is mandatory. Even if you don't know exactly how something is written, having programming experience and having a reasonable knowledge of how something could be written is essential. The more of this knowledge you have, the more things you will know intuitively. It is not possible to understand a thing about computers without knowing how they're programmed, so even if this doesn't achieve any of your short-term goals, your first step should be to learn a programming language.

I recommend a modern, dynamic language. They're very easy to work with, easy to learn, very forgiving, etc. Some good candidates are Ruby and Python. Both are free, both run on any OS, and both have free (legal) books online teaching them.