Photo
- - - - -

Backtrack 3 VMware Ettercap suddenly not working.

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 L3g10n

L3g10n

Will I break 10 posts?

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 16 June 2009 - 06:40 PM

Hello all, :P

Just to give you some information on what kind of setup i have going. Im running Windows Vista Ult. as my main operating system. I have VMware server running ( VMware-server-2.0.1-156745) where i have backtrack 3 running with persistent changes so its not a live boot, and i have Windows XP SP3 running. Both virtual machines are using a bridged connection with the main machine. Each machine gets an IP from the DHCP, and I have no problems accessing the internet, pinging or any kind of communication between the OS's. I'm a netsec student, and use this virtual environment to test exploiting different vulnerabilities, and make videos of doing so. I have had no problems whatsoever with ettercap up until a few days ago. For some reason the program isn't able to successfully poison. When i chk_poison, there is no poisoning between my targeted machine.
The ettercap command im using.
ettercap -T -q -M arp:remote -P dns_spoof /<target_ip>/ // (obviously replacing the <target_ip> with the appropriate address)

I have used wireshark to analyze the packets to compare a successful poison vs a unsuccessful one in wireshark. I have found the problem and ettercap is simply not rewriting the DST mac with the spoofed one. If i get any replies i can upload the wireshark log...

Some steps Ive taken to try and fix the problem.

I made sure the etter.dns file have the correct ip. **** In backtrack
Restart all the machines, restart the router and cable modem.
ipconfig /flushdns and clear the cache in IE7 ***** on the target machine
echo "1" > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward *** In backtrack
Im not sure if your iptable rule sets reset once your reboot, but i have checked my iptables -L in backtrack and all is good. I can upload a copy if anyone wants to see.