Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Cisco Systems


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 thepcdude

thepcdude

    SUPR3M3 31337 Mack Daddy P1MP

  • Members
  • 353 posts
  • Location:Computer, Desk

Posted 11 April 2009 - 03:54 PM

http://www.cisco.com...cd805f90d8.html

Rofl. I enjoyed that. Anyone here have any info on Cisco systems? They seem really interesting. I'm going to continue my VoIP studies. It's so insecure if it's not set up properly :D

#2 phasma

phasma

    Hakker addict

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 11 April 2009 - 04:05 PM

I really enjoyed that too. Cisco had a lot more than I knew of.

#3 Aghaster

Aghaster

    The Frenchman

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 2,093 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec, Canada

Posted 11 April 2009 - 10:33 PM

That was a nice video, but I guess all of this equipment is very expensive

#4 R4p1d

R4p1d

    Hakker addict

  • Members
  • 840 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Space

Posted 11 April 2009 - 10:35 PM

A buddy of mine works for cisco, he gets free crap all the time.

He has somewhere near 30 thin clients that just lay around in his house.

#5 Aghaster

Aghaster

    The Frenchman

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 2,093 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec, Canada

Posted 11 April 2009 - 10:42 PM

A buddy of mine works for cisco, he gets free crap all the time.

He has somewhere near 30 thin clients that just lay around in his house.


You just gave me an idea, I'm so going to apply for an internship at cisco :P I have no idea if they have internships for students in software engineering near Montreal, however.

#6 R4p1d

R4p1d

    Hakker addict

  • Members
  • 840 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Space

Posted 11 April 2009 - 10:46 PM

A buddy of mine works for cisco, he gets free crap all the time.

He has somewhere near 30 thin clients that just lay around in his house.


You just gave me an idea, I'm so going to apply for an internship at cisco :P I have no idea if they have internships for students in software engineering near Montreal, however.


Funny you say that, my buddy lives in California, he once offered me an internship position, but I couldn't accept it at the time.

You should try, Cisco is a great company to work for, but I'm not sure that you'll be able to find a place in Montreal, they're based out of California.

#7 Aghaster

Aghaster

    The Frenchman

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 2,093 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec, Canada

Posted 11 April 2009 - 10:49 PM

A buddy of mine works for cisco, he gets free crap all the time.

He has somewhere near 30 thin clients that just lay around in his house.


You just gave me an idea, I'm so going to apply for an internship at cisco :P I have no idea if they have internships for students in software engineering near Montreal, however.


Funny you say that, my buddy lives in California, he once offered me an internship position, but I couldn't accept it at the time.

You should try, Cisco is a great company to work for, but I'm not sure that you'll be able to find a place in Montreal, they're based out of California.


Crap, I just checked, here's the page. They're all US locations :(

#8 jabzor

jabzor

    hax?

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,146 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Elbonia, fighting the lefties

Posted 12 April 2009 - 08:56 AM

You can interview in Canada, but you'll likely have to relocate to the States.
Have a friend working out of their NC location who interviewed in Toronto after they flew him out.

#9 Cryptik Hex

Cryptik Hex

    elite

  • Members
  • 101 posts
  • Location:Pasadena CA

Posted 16 April 2009 - 07:18 PM

Man, great video! And yeah, I didn't know Cisco has such technology. Its really cool.

R4p1d: Tell your friend I'm in the market for some free stuff hahaha jk

#10 R4p1d

R4p1d

    Hakker addict

  • Members
  • 840 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Space

Posted 16 April 2009 - 07:49 PM

Man, great video! And yeah, I didn't know Cisco has such technology. Its really cool.

R4p1d: Tell your friend I'm in the market for some free stuff hahaha jk


Hahaha, sure.

#11 Cryptik Hex

Cryptik Hex

    elite

  • Members
  • 101 posts
  • Location:Pasadena CA

Posted 17 April 2009 - 06:02 AM

Well, as for his actual question about Cisco, I know just a bit. I know that Cisco IOS has had some major security problems in the past. I recently stumbled across a subnet that was full of Cisco IOS boxes. Sure enough, the subnet was owned by a communications company. Some of the IOS boxes even have telnet open. That's about all I really know for now, but I do agree that they are pretty interesting.

#12 eth0s

eth0s

    HACK THE PLANET!

  • Members
  • 63 posts
  • Location:Seattle

Posted 17 April 2009 - 12:49 PM

I was just in the market for an internship. Thanks for the ideas! :D

I always wanted to move back to the southwest US anyways. lol

#13 SchippStrich

SchippStrich

    SUP3R 31337 P1MP

  • Members
  • 293 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 17 April 2009 - 10:51 PM

Cisco is the big player when it comes to network devices.
80% of the routers used in inter-networking all of the routers that make up the internet are Cisco devices.
One of those reasons is because Cisco has developed some propriety protocols to help enhance various tasks such as dynamic routing, rapid spanning tree protocol(bridges/switches)
and others non routing related.
Another being that Cisco makes good products. I am studying for my CCNA right now. Even though I am, I still have a neutral position on Cisco mainly because of the prices, and all the propriety bullshit(protocols, hardware,cabling).
I usually don't mind companies doing their own thing especially when its useful but when it comes to routing and whatnot if you say you are running Ciscos EIGRP routing protocol every other device must use that protocol obviously.

I apologize if this is difficult to understand I have been up for almost two days (Notacon).

#14 jabzor

jabzor

    hax?

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,146 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Elbonia, fighting the lefties

Posted 18 April 2009 - 12:58 AM

Cisco is the big player when it comes to network devices.
80% of the routers used in inter-networking all of the routers that make up the internet are Cisco devices.

Depends on the market. Nortel and Juniper are big in certain regions, Alcatel/Lucent and Huawei in others.

I usually don't mind companies doing their own thing especially when its useful but when it comes to routing and whatnot if you say you are running Ciscos EIGRP routing protocol every other device must use that protocol obviously.

CCNP -> Route Redistribution, Route Summarization and Interarea Routing and Border Routers, Default-Information, Route Maps etc.
You only have to run EIGRP on the routers you want to be directly involved in the EIGRP area, you can set up an OSPF ASBR to join multiple areas or ABR to join two different OSPF areas, same with RIP, ISIS, EGRP or BGP.

quick-example, not to really be used in production as-is:
R1(config)# router ospf 1
R1(conf-router)# redistribute eigrp 1
R1(config)# router eigrp 1
R1(conf-router)# redistribute ospf 1

Edited by jabzor, 18 April 2009 - 01:04 AM.


#15 SchippStrich

SchippStrich

    SUP3R 31337 P1MP

  • Members
  • 293 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 18 April 2009 - 10:26 AM

Damn, I just got pwn3d.

#16 jabzor

jabzor

    hax?

  • Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,146 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Elbonia, fighting the lefties

Posted 18 April 2009 - 12:01 PM

(off-topic)

Damn, I just got pwn3d.

Nah, I mostly agree with you about the proprietary protocols and the ridiculous pricing, was just pointing out you don't always need them.
Unless you are running a high-priority network that cannot afford any downtime you don't really need the 2hr or 4hr RMA, you can get by with next-business-day or even going outside of contract and just buying third-party refurb parts - especially when it comes to voice kit (example).

At the same time, you don't want a duct-tape network as the money you save in parts you start to make up for in troubleshooting and multi-vendor training. :D

Edited by jabzor, 18 April 2009 - 12:04 PM.


#17 SchippStrich

SchippStrich

    SUP3R 31337 P1MP

  • Members
  • 293 posts
  • Country:
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 18 April 2009 - 02:07 PM

I haven't gotten deep into it. Right now I am studying Cisco switches hardcore, then routers will be next. I just know a little bit from reading so far I have switches pretty well down(vlans,stp) but as far as routing goes I have only used static and rip. But I will soon enough....... if I don't keep slacking off.
:)




BinRev is hosted by the great people at Lunarpages!