Photo
- - - - -

Assembly

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 blackzero

blackzero

I broke 10 posts and all I got was this lousy title!

• Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 19 August 2008 - 07:17 PM

I've been trying to find a good tutorial for learning assembly, im a bit confused because im pretty sure that its telling me that with each different type of computer there is a different way of doing assembly, well every tutorial i find is x86 but i have a 64-bit processor so im pretty sure that means that i have to do things slightly different? if i'm wrong about any of this please correct me but if i am right does anyone know of a 64-bit assembly tutorial cause i seem to be only able to find the x86 ones and i have tried googleing for a 64-bit one but im not even completly sure what i need to loook for in order to get started, i do have some programming experience in c, c++, c#, and java but i want to find a tutorial that treats you like a complete newb just so that i know they will cover everything so i dont miss anything. thanks in advance for any help anyone can give me in finding more info.

#2 livinded

livinded

Dangerous free thinker

• Agents of the Revolution
  • 1,942 posts

Posted 19 August 2008 - 08:03 PM

the 64bit intel/amd cpus are just an extended and expanded version of the x86 processors. The instruction set and registers are basically identical with some additions to the x86_64 processors. Assuming you are using Linux, the book you want to get is Professional Assembly Programming from Wrox. It's the best resource I've found for learning ia32 assembly. It doesn't cover long mode (64bit support) but honestly most of what you need for that can be found in the intel architecture manuals which are available in printed and digital format on the intel website for free.

Edited by livinded, 19 August 2008 - 08:07 PM.

#3 blackzero

blackzero

• Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 19 August 2008 - 08:09 PM